Ready, Set, Run!

I had been debating on whether or not I wanted to participate in the Reindeer Dash for Cash this year for a few weeks. I enjoyed the event last year, but I just ran a Turkey Trot, and intended to participate in another Christmas 5K at home in a couple of weeks. Plus the t-shirt was not all that cute this year.

I mentioned my dilemma to my friend Emily, and she told me that she would be running in the race with a group of kids that she has been coaching for the past twelve weeks. She said that she was going to be responsible for fourteen kids and would love to have some extra help if I wanted to run with them.

I LOVE KIDS! So, that sealed the deal. I registered on Sunday morning and joined the gang.

Photo: so proud of them...my lil superheroes!

There was one little girl who was struggling to keep up with the group. She wanted to take some walk breaks and the other kids were being speed demons. I asked her if she wanted to be my friend for the day and we could stick together- so that’s what we did.

She is in the second grade, her favorite thing about second grade is typing (she’s really good at it.) She is hoping that Santa Clause brings her a new kitten (preferably orange). Her name will be Kate. She talked my ear off the whole race.

It was a blast. And yeah, I did my slowest 5K ever, but you know what… WHO CARES?!?!?! That little girl was so proud of herself, and so excited that she finished the race. I was really proud of her, and thrilled that I got to be a part of her special day.

One thought on “Ready, Set, Run!

  1. Pingback: Looking Back on 2012 | sparklesandsweat

Leave a Reply

