Popcorn Epiphany

Let’s start off by talking about what I did today (hint:exactly what I wanted to do). I went to bed without setting an alarm, and woke up when I was “good and ready”. I took my sweet time preparing for the day, and lingered over my coffee this morning. I spent the majority of the day in the library working on a project and being completely self-absorbed. Once I was satisfied with my work, I went to the gym for an hour. I came home, threw in a load of laundry and prepped my lunches for the week. I intended to eat what I as cooking, but decided I was not in the mood. You know what I was in the mood for? Chocolate and popcorn. That’s right, for dinner tonight I had popcorn with chocolate chips thrown in the bag. They were melty and gooey and delicious.

As I was enjoying my “well-rounded” meal I had an epiphany- Most people cannot do this. Most people are not free to just live their life and do what ever they want all of the time without any regard to anyone else. If I had a husband, or children, or even a serious boy friend I could not eat popcorn for dinner. I would have to be responsible. But guess what, I’m young and independent, and I have the freedom to do whatever I want all the time. And that rocks!

The green monster might have gotten to me a little bit when everyone was posting pictures of their babies dressed up as dinosaurs or princesses or whatever on facebook, but at the end of the day I am thrilled that I get to look at those cuties and then close my computer and not have to deal with any of the nonsense that comes with motherhood.

I may complain about my relationship status, but I’m full of bologna. Don’t let me fool you, I love being single. I can be selfish and self absorbed and irresponsible and no one can judge me for it. This is an incredible time in my life and I want to enjoy every last second of it.

Leave a Reply

