Sam’s 5K

Every year the sorority that I was a member of as an undergrad organizes a 5K race in honor of one of our sisters who lost her battle with cancer. It is our biggest fundraiser, and all of the proceeds are donated to St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital. I have volunteered at the event the last four years, and have always considered it one of the highlights of the school year.

This year as an alumni I was no longer obligated to attend, but there was nowhere that I would have rather been this morning. I was thrilled to be able to participate in the event for the first time. I tried to have a relaxed and nonchalant attitude about the race. I have not been doing a whole lot of running lately (lots of group fitness though), and I have been fighting a little bit of a cold, so my expectations were low. My only goals going into the race were not to walk and not to throw a temper tantrum when things were less than perfect.

I actually felt surprisingly great throughout the entire race, and ended up finishing really strong. I was not even wearing a watch, so I didn’t have any indication of what my time would be, but I had this FEELING as I was coming around the last turn that I was going to be pleased.

Nice face Layne -SUPER attractive!

And wouldn’t you know it, I managed to pull out a new 5K PR by a minute and thirty five seconds. Not too shabby considering I was honestly concerned that I might have to walk some of it- silly me!

It made for a great morning: the weather was perfect, everyone was in a good mood, I got to spend some quality time with my sisters. I spend a good portion of the afternoon thinking about how much I love running, and how I know I could go at least teeny bit faster next time.

3 thoughts on “Sam’s 5K

  1. Pingback: New Month! New Goals! | sparklesandsweat

  2. Pingback: Looking Back on 2012 | sparklesandsweat

  3. Pingback: An Evaluation of 2012 Resolutions | sparklesandsweat

Leave a Reply

