The Great Cat Saga of 2012

This has absolutely nothing to do with running, or working out, or healthy living, or sparkles, or anything related to the regular content of this blog, but it’s too funny and dramatic not to share.

Last Friday, I went to Starbucks to reward myself after a long week with a skinny caramel latte made with soy milk. I intended to do some reading, and it was a gorgeous day, so I decided to spend my morning on the patio.

I was just sitting there minding my own business when this adorable kitty jumped into my lap. Now, I am the kind of person who thinks that when a stray animal comes your way, you help it out. I brought the cat home and my roommate (who I hadn’t been getting along with anyways was LIVID). I tried to assure her that I had no intentions of keeping the cat, but she was more interested in yelling.

I went to class and told everyone about the stray cat that was currently in my room. Everyone agreed that I am a sucker. Later that afternoon I posted the cat on Craig’s List, called four different no kill feline adoption agencies, had my sorority e-mailed to see if anyone wanted her, and I posted her to facebook. I did not get a single response… for a week.

On Saturday, I decided that obviously this cat wasn’t going anywhere and I had better take her to the vet. At this point my roommate has not spoken to me for a week, and I was scared that the cat had worms.

The vet tells me that the cat does not have worms; she is pregnant. I start crying. Hysterically. In the vet’s office. I cannot even find a home for one cat. What am I going to do with a whole litter of cats? I leave the office $112 poorer still crying. The receptionist calls me as I’m driving home. She has the contact information for a lady who works with all these adoption agencies who is willing to help me.

I call this cat lady, and she assures me that we will be able to find homes for the kittens. I make her PROMISE me that it won’t be a problem. She tells me all about what to expect with a litter of kittens, and gets me calmed down.

On Sunday, I go to the library and check out the entire section of cat books. if I am going to do this, then I want to be prepared.

TODAY, I receive an e-mail from someone responding to my Craig’s List post from a week and a half ago. I have their cat. They said that she has been missing for awhile, and they are completely relieved that she has been well cared for. I’m taking her home in the morning.

On the one hand,it’s a relief to not have to deal with all of this kitten business. On the other hand, I have gotten kind of attached to this cat, and I am not too happy about giving her back.

I kind of want a kitten…

20120925-001306.jpg

20120925-001348.jpg

20120925-001514.jpg

One thought on “The Great Cat Saga of 2012

  1. Pingback: Looking Back on 2012 | sparklesandsweat

Leave a Reply

