Who is going to kick your butt?

Last semester I took a class for school titled “Group Fitness Activities”. The class was designed for people who are going to be working in the health/ fitness industry in a variety of ways to have an initial exposure to group fitness classes. My instructor is also the head of the group fitness program at my school. Meet Sam…

Is it just me, or is he a little bit scary?

I fell in love, no not with the shirtless man covered in abs! I fell head over heels butt-crazy in love with group fitness. I could not get enough of it. I went to an additional four (plus or minus one) classes every week for the entirety of the semester. Sometimes I even went to multiple classes in one night!

I had myself added to an e-mail list of people interested in becoming group fitness instructors, and my instructor was very encouraging. I have a meeting with them in two weeks and I am terrified!

You might be wondering why I am being such a chicken. My response to that question is, “Ummm hello do you know me? I over-think EVERYTHING!!!” But also, I have been a lazy slob all summer long. Sure, I’ve gone on some nice leisurely runs. But I haven’t been pushing myself in the same way that I was in those high intensity classes. I certainly haven’t held a plank for any considerable amount of time.

This morning, as I laid in bed hitting snooze on my alarm (like I always do), I did something a little out of character. I was actually kind of stern with myself. Normally I am all about positive self talk, and being encouraging rather than punishing, but this morning I sat up, took a deep breath and said, “Layne, are you going to kick your own butt this morning, or are you going to let Sam do it for you?” I got myself out of bed, into some spandex, and hit the football stadium!

Hey it’s a start! I’m feeling a little bit proud, or maybe that’s just the endorphins.

3 thoughts on “Who is going to kick your butt?

  1. Don’t be afraid of becoming an instructor! The hardest part (like anything) is getting started. Having someone to push you to do it is the best thing you can have – I’d have a drawer full of certifications but never would have taught a class had I not had great mentors pushing me (that was 5 years ago – now I teach at least 5 classes a week). You get those first couple classes under your belt and it goes from scary to fun 🙂

  2. I adore group fitness! I started about two years ago and would take 2-4 classes a day most days every week that first semester. Then I became licensed to teach Zumba and have taught anywhere from 2-15 classes a week 🙂 Sarah is right, it IS scary at first, but the nerves do leave. 😉 Then it’s just plain fun. 😉 Been teaching for nearly 1 1/2 years. Love it. If it’s something you really do enjoy, do it! It’s the most rewarding thing I’ve ever done 🙂

Leave a Reply

