Thankful Things Thursday

Late last week I finally snapped. I have been dealing with the admissions process for AWHILE now. My last letter of recommendation was submitted, thus making my application complete. I never received any kind of confirmation from the Admissions Department that they had all the necessary requirements, so anxiety started to set in. I decided that for my own sanity I would contact them (just in case). I called them (four times), left voicemails, e-mailed them, and when I did not receive any kind of response I visited the admissions office in person. A lady with a gold tooth who would not even pull up my file told me that it could take 6-8 weeks for them to process it. That would mean I would find out my admissions status about two weeks before school starts, and well after the lease is up on my apartment. I cried. I e-mailed the head of the program that I am applying to, and asked if he could let me know if/ when they received my application because the admissions department was being difficult. He immediately got back in touch with me saying he would look into it. THE VERY NEXT DAY I received an e-mail from admissions saying that my application had been processed and was sent to the department, so I should find out a definitive answer about the next two years of my life ANY DAY. I’m thankful that things are finally progressing, and I’m thankful that someone was willing to help me out.

I received an e-mail a couple of weeks ago saying that I had received an award and to please come to the Kinesiology department and pick it up. I did not think very much about it, I figured it was probably just something that they gave to everyone who had a certain G.P.A. (or something along those lines). Turns out I was wrong. I received an “Outstanding Senior” award. The department only gave out six of these awards. My grandfather counted up how many students graduated from the department and it was either 298 or 398 (I don’t remember), so I was one of six out of A LOT. I’m pretty flattered. I don’t know which of my professors nominated me, but it just feels good to know that people recognize all of the hard work I have put into school. I’m thankful for my award, and I am thankful for the people who gave it to me. This award also boosts my confidence about graduate school, and I could not be more thankful for that.

I’m at home right now for my brother’s high school graduation. I’m thankful for the person that he is, and for all of the exciting opportunities that await him in the fall. I hope that enjoys college as much as I have.

At an ECU football game. Look how tall this kid is!

2 thoughts on “Thankful Things Thursday

  1. Pingback: Frustrated Thursday | sparklesandsweat

Leave a Reply

