Marathon Training and Animal Encounters

It’s a fresh spankin’ new month, and I have some big plans. Today, I officially started marathon training again. There are 19 weeks until the Amica Marathon in Newport, Rhode Island. The training plan that I am using this time around is 16 weeks long, so I have three weeks to focus on rebuilding my cardiovascular fitness (it’s not quite where I would like it to be), and getting a solid mileage base.

This morning I woke up before my alarm even went off; I was (surprisingly) excited to get back into training. I set off on what was supposed to be an easy three mile run. I was having so much fun that I ended up doing two extra miles! There is a trail that I run regularly (I have called my “dessert run” in previous posts), but I always run the same portion of it, never the full thing. Today on a whim I did not quit at my usual turn around spot. I randomly decided to stick to the pathway, and I am so glad that I did. I have been missing the best part of the trail! I felt like I left the city, and was back at home in the mountains. It was a great way to start any day, but it was especially a great way to kick of training. I still have some exploring to do. I can’t wait to head back over there and figure out what I’ve been missing.

The roomsy and I have been regularly taking walks in the evening. We set out on our typical walk tonight. It ended up being full of adventure. Well, that may be a little dramatic. We saw some cool animals. There were these teeny tiny baby frogs. They were the size of a nickel. I tried to take their pictures, but they were too fast. Then I spotted these HUGE glowing eyes. I jumped because any animal that big had to be mean. Snake? Alligator? Dinosaur? WHAT WAS IT??? It was the biggest frog I have ever seen in my entire life! I was able to sweet talk the roomie into photographing us together. She was resistant. She thought he was going to leap at her. I guess she ended up being more frightened of my peer pressure than the enormous amphibian.

I feel like this picture does not do the frog justice. Trust me he probably weighed 7 pounds, and when I poked him he jumped three feet (seriously, maybe even further). As if the frogs were not enough excitement, we had another encounter.

This poor little turtle was stuck on the apartment side of the fence. He was trying to get back out, and I thought he would die if I left him. So I had to do a quick change into my super hero cape, then I put him in a bowl and drove him to a lake. I like to think he was thankful, but he was actually pretty feisty. He needed an attitude adjustment. Maybe he was a teenager turtle.

I feel like this post has gotten really long. Let me recap (in case you forgot).

• It’s June.
• Marathon training has begun.
• I had a baller run tonight.
• The most humongous frog known to mankind lives in my backyard..
• I rescued a turtle and he was not very friendly.

One thought on “Marathon Training and Animal Encounters

Leave a Reply

