Food Rules: An Eater’s Manual

I first came across Michael Pollan when he appeared on Oprah to talk about the documentary Food Inc. He was a consultant and narrator for the film. Once Oprah was over I found the documentary on Netflix and spent an unprecedented amount of time engrossed in my television.

Although I am vegetarian, (and he is not) a lot of the points made by Pollan resonated with me. (There was a lot of head nodding involved). I was pleasantly surprised when I happened across his latest (I believe) book Food Rules: An Eaters Manual. It contains sixty four “rules” designed to act as filters for the overly processed food products that Americans have come to rely on so heavily.

Here are some of my favorite rules:

  • Avoid foods that are pretending to be something they are not. (Example: artificial sweeteners, or margarine)
  • Don’t ingest foods made in places where everyone is required to wear a surgical cap.
  • Don’t eat breakfast cereals that change the color of the milk. (These cereals are full of refined carbs and additives)
  • Eat more like the French. Or the Japanese. Or the Italians. Or the Greeks. (Just not like Americans)
  • Spend as much time enjoying the meal as it took to prepare it.
  • Don’t get your fuel from the same place your car does.
  • Cook.

 

Leave a Reply

