Makin’ Plans

I have had a permanent MarathonGuide.com tab up for the past 72 hours.

I am so torn about what to do with racing season 2012. I have had my eye on The Shamrock Marathon in Virginia Beach ever since I finished Chicago, but at this point it is thirteen weeks away and I have not done a single long run. I feel confident that I could be ready to complete it, but I don’t think I would be prepared to do as well I would like. I already ran one marathon with the goal of just finishing. I want for my second marathon to be about improvement.

And I left myself PLENTY of room for improvement.

There are a million amazing destination races to choose from, but at this point I feel like I am too unsure of what my finances will be like to commit to anything. I’m graduating in May, but I don’t have a job lined up yet. I don’t know if I’ll get a place of my own (probably), or if I’ll be moving back in with my family (at least temporarily).

For right now I think that my best bet is to just wait it out, and look into closer races. I’m only 23. I have plenty of time.

3 thoughts on “Makin’ Plans

  1. Maybe you can run a whole bunch of local races as training races for a marathon towards the latter part of the summer, once you figure out your finances! That way, you have a goal in mind that you’re training for and you won’t have to start marathon training…you’re already in the middle of it. Also, maybe you’ll get graduation surprises that’ll help in the money department!

  2. I have some friends who are running the 8k and some others running that half in Va. Beach.

    I struggle with the same thing. I really like triathlons, and there are not many local ones to Baltimore. They are close – but they still involve an hour so drive or a hotel room. It really does start to get pricey.

Leave a Reply

