The Motivation Behind the Marathon

Posted on April 1, 2011

My life is a mess. Essentially I was so preoccupied with a certain relationship that I pushed aside all of my other priorities, including running, schoolwork, my sorority, and all other important relationships. All of that the energy that I poured into worrying about this thing was useless. Right now I am feeling completely deflated and I think it’s a good time to remind myself, and explain to all of you why in 191 days I will be running 26.2 miles.

When I was in highschool I loved my body. Don’t get me wrong I had my insecurities, but my body did amazing things for me. As a cheerleader I twisted into inhumane positions; I flipped through the air; I threw people up and I caught them. I worked really hard, and I knew that no matter how I looked my body did incredible things for me, and I respected myself.

I miss that confidence. I miss feeling that strength in myself. As I finish up college, and my twenty-third birthday approaches, I want to find that part of myself again. I have spent a few years not thinking about my health or fitness level, and I feel like without that part of me I don’t know who I am.

And of course being myself, I couldn’t settle for just getting into a regular exercise routine. I had to publicly commit to running 1000 miles and register for a marathon.

You know what they say about shooting for the moon…

Here are some old cheerleader pics for your mockery and enjoyment

Beach Flips
PYRAMID
FLYING

Yes, the trophy is almost as tall as me.

Leave a Reply

