Born To Run

I had been interested in reading Born to Run for some time. Other bloggers sang it’s praises and I noticed references to it in a few running articles. At one point I even started it at Barnes and Noble, but ended up postponing my purchase. Last week I received a tough love e-mail from my SCUBA instructor recommending the book. I decided that enough was enough. I felt like everywhere I turned people were discussing Born to Run, so I immediately left my computer to see what all of the fuss was about.

It was one of the best books I have read in a long time! I was torn the entire time I was reading. On the one hand, I did not want to put it down. On the other hand, I could not wait to run. Although it was more about ultra marathons it definitely got me pumped for my training and helped me overcome my fear of my first double digit run.

Here are some of my favorite quotes:

“They remembered that running was mankind’s first fine art, our original act of inspired creation. Way before we were scratching pictures on caves or beating rhythms on hollow trees, we were perfecting the art of combining our breath and mind and muscles into fluid self propulsion over wild terrain.”

“When you run on the earth, and you run with the earth, you can run forever.”

“When I’m out on a long run, the only thing that matters is finishing the run… Everything quiets down, and the only thing going on is pure flow. It’s just me and the movement and the motion.”

“The reason we race isn’t so much to beat each other… but to be with each other.”

“Just move your legs. Because, if you don’t think you were born to run, you’re not only denying history. You’re denying who you are.”

Leave a Reply

